clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

TRANSFER: Georgetown’s Dante Harris Enters Transfer Portal (Updated)

The 2021 BIG EAST Tournament Most Outstanding Player moves on

Creighton v Georgetown - Big East Men’s Basketball Tournament Championship Photo by Porter Binks/Getty Images

Georgetown has confirmed that junior guard Dante Harris has submitted his name to the transfer portal.

After a few months away from the Georgetown Hoyas team due to “personal issues,” Harris has formally entered the portal. Harris will be best known for his 2021 freshman efforts that carried the Hoyas through the BIG EAST Tournament as the awarded Most Outstanding Player into the NCAA Tournament.

Unfortunately, the ensuing winless conference season that followed for the Hoyas forced a complete overhaul of the Georgetown roster. Last spring, Ewing shed 6 players to the portal and added in 8 transfers and two freshmen. Many fans have been pointing to the addition of Duquesne point guard Primo Spears as an exterior catalyst for Harris’ decision to leave, but additions of guards Brandon Murray and Jay Heath likely also spelled a reduced role for Dante.

Dante Harris is still listed on the roster, and there have been no formal announcements from, so maybe there is room for Harris to come back to the team. That said, after missing what appears to be the first semester, reconciliation seems far fetched.

In 2021-22, Harris averaged 11.9 points per game in 32.2 minutes per game, with 4.1 assists and 2.6 turnovers. Last year, he shot 37% from the field and 27.5% from three. In 2020-21, Harris averaged 8.0 points per game in 30.3 minutes per game, with 3.2 assists, and shot 35% from the field and 26% from three.

Harris will always be remembered for leading the BIG EAST Tournament Championship team, but his game unfortunately followed a path of a few other guards under Patrick Ewing who carried low field goal percentages with inconsistent assist and turnover statistics.

Ultimately, Ewing promised the world to each of his recruits and failed to uphold his end of the bargain, leading to their transfers. When Harris actually transfers out, he will join Ewing-era (2017-2022) transfers Donald Carey, Collin Holloway, Tyler Beard, Timothy Ighoefe, Jalin Billingsley, Kobe Clark, Jamari Sibley, T.J. Berger, Mac McClung, James Akinjo, Josh LeBlanc, Galen Alexander, Myron Gardner, Grayson Carter, Antwan Walker, Chris Sodom, and Qudus Wahab (returned).