clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Jagan Mosely honored with BIG EAST Sportsmanship Award

All-Conference recognition for exemplary conduct on & off the court

NCAA Basketball: Georgetown at Marquette Jeff Hanisch-USA TODAY Sports

This weekend, Jagan Mosely was honored during the Georgetown Hoyas’ Senior Day ceremony. He was profiled by outlets ranging from lunch blogs to the Washington Post. He took time out from a pressure-filled and emotional week to meet a fan. A four year-player who exemplified what it was like to be a leader, a teammate, and an all-around decent human being, Mosely is the type of student athlete any program is lucky to have on campus.

Now, he has been recognized with the BIG EAST Conference with a Sportsmanship Award, highlighting the exemplary conduct of players who are, “strong contributors to their respective teams on and off the court.”

That said...apparently the BIG EAST thinks he’s a Junior, so is their subtle way of giving him another year of eligibility? We won’t say anything.

Congratulations, Jagan. You deserve this and more.

Hoya Saxa.

Presser from Georgetown:

Mosely Earns BIG EAST Sportsmanship Award

WASHINGTON – Georgetown University senior Jagan Mosely selected as a recipient of the 2020 BIG EAST Sportsmanship Award. Due to a tie in voting, Mosely is one of three athletes who share the award this year joining Butler’s Kamar Baldwin and Providence’s Emmitt Holt.


● For the season, Mosely is averaging 8.4 ppg, 4.5 rpg and is shooting 50.0 percent (80-160) from the floor.

● Averaging 38.5 mpg in BIG EAST play, Mosely leads the league with 691 minutes played.

● The senior has been tasked with a full 40 minutes on four separate occasions this year.

● This is the first Sportsmanship Award under Head Coach Patrick Ewing and the second in program history.

● Mosely joins Jason Clark (2011-12) as the only two Hoyas to earn the BIG EAST’s Sportsmanship Award.

● Per the BIG EAST, the Sportsmanship Award winners are strong contributors to their respective teams on and off the court. The league’s head coaches select the award winners and they are not permitted to vote for their own players.