clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Nike PK80 Tournament Brackets Revealed!

thompson center

Georgetown has been selected as one of 16 power conference schools to play in PK80, an exciting 16-team Tournament put together to honor Nike founder Phil Knight's 80th birthday. The PK80 tournament will be held in Portland, Oregon, during the week leading up to Thanksgiving.

Brackets HERE, and Georgetown is set to face Michigan State on Thanksgiving Day! The Hoyas and Spartans met in 2014 at Madison Square Garden, with the Hoyas defeating the 7th ranked Spartans 64-60. The winner/loser of that matchup will then face the winner/loser of Oregon-UConn.

This Tournament has been a long time comin’ for Hoyas fans, who have waited FIVE YEARS since the initial announcement of the event. Per our casual article on the Tournament.

This event would have more collective star power than any of the previous tournaments played at Maui, New York, Orlando or the Bahamas. The 16 Nike-sponsored schools -- mostly elite programs -- include Michigan State, Kentucky, Duke and North Carolina.

Hollis said he has commitments from schools representing all of college basketball's power conferences. NCAA rules prohibit schools from the same conference playing in the same event, hence the two eight-team tournaments.

The other schools are Florida, Ohio State, Connecticut, Georgetown, Texas, Oklahoma, Stanford, Oregon, Xavier, Butler, Gonzaga and Portland.

Website with ticket info for the event HERE.

• The tournament consists of two separate brackets running simultaneously all three days. Teams will remain in the same bracket for the duration of the tournament. The tournament will be played in both the Moda Center and Veterans Memorial Coliseum. Games will be scheduled for Thursday, November 23, 2017, Friday, November 24, 2017, and Sunday, November 26, 2017.

• Each day is split into 2 sessions. Each session consists of 2 games each day in each building, therefore there are 6 sessions for each building for a total of 12 sessions (24 games total). Every team will play one game each day of the tournament for a total of 3 games.

• Every team will play one game in each building over the first 2 days. For example, if a team played in Moda Center on Thursday, they will automatically play in Veterans Memorial Coliseum on Friday (and vice versa). The location of their game Sunday will be determined by the outcome of their first 2 games.

Other than the annual fiesta against Syracuse on December 16th, not much other information has been revealed about Georgetown’s non-conference schedule in 2017-18 which will likely feature weaker opponents in Patrick Ewing’s 1st year as head coach than in years past. After playing Maryland in each of the last two years as part of the Gavitt games, the Hoyas will not play in this year’s series.