clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Patrick Ewing to be Inducted Into DC Sports Hall of Fame

Brad Penner-USA TODAY Sports

Well deserved honor for an all-time Hoya great and NBA Hall of Famer.

Press Release below:

Christine Brennan, Marco Etcheverry, Patrick Ewing, Frank Herzog, Earl Lloyd, Dexter Manley, Missy Meharg, Bob Milloy, Hymie Perlo, Phil Perlo and Harold Solomon will be honored during a pregame ceremony on July 17 at Nationals Park

The 11 new members of the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame will be honored during a pregame ceremony on Sunday, July 17 at Nationals Park, before the Nationals play the Pittsburgh Pirates. The following inductees will be honored:

Christine BrennanUSA Today columnist and commentator for ABC, CNN, NPR and PBS
Marco Etcheverry - D.C. United's top midfielder and member of MLS' All-Time team
Patrick Ewing - Three-time All-American for Georgetown and Basketball Hall of Famer
Frank Herzog - Voice of the Redskins and Bullets for three Super Bowl victories and 1978 NBA title
Earl Lloyd - Former NBA player who broke the league's color barrier with the Washington Capitols
Dexter Manley - All-Pro Redskins defensive end and winner of two Super Bowls
Missy Meharg - Seven-time national champion University of Maryland field hockey coach
Bob Milloy - Eight-time Maryland state championship high school football coach
Hymie Perlo - Roosevelt High School sports star and Bullets' Community Relations Director 
Phil Perlo - Roosevelt High School sports star and member of the 1960 AFL champion Houston Oilers
Harold Solomon - French Open finalist, U.S. Open semifinalist and 1974 Washington Star tournament winner

The inductees were selected based on their outstanding contributions to the world of sports, thereby bringing honor and recognition to the nation's capital. They join a select group of Washington-area standout athletes and sports personalities in the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame, including Sammy Baugh, James Brown, Dominique Dawes, Josh Gibson, Walter Johnson, Sonny Jurgensen, Morgan Wootten, Bob Wolff and many others.

Each new inductee will receive a Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame plaque commemorating their induction during the pregame ceremony, and their names will be added to the large Hall of Fame display at Nationals Park, overlooking the left field concourse.

More information on the Washington DC Sports Hall of Fame can be found at