clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

Georgetown Hoyas to Play in Awesome 16-Team Nike Tournament

Jack's excited.  (Photo by Chris Trotman/Getty Images)
Jack's excited. (Photo by Chris Trotman/Getty Images)
Getty Images

Per ESPN, Georgetown has been selected as one of 16 power conference schools to play in an exciting 16-team Tournament put together to honor Nike founder Phil Knight's 80th birthday.

This event would have more collective star power than any of the previous tournaments played at Maui, New York, Orlando or the Bahamas. The 16 Nike-sponsored schools -- mostly elite programs -- include Michigan State, Kentucky, Duke and North Carolina.

Hollis said he has commitments from schools representing all of college basketball's power conferences. NCAA rules prohibit schools from the same conference playing in the same event, hence the two eight-team tournaments.

The other schools are Florida, Ohio State, Connecticut, Georgetown, Texas, Oklahoma, Stanford, Oregon, Xavier, Butler, Gonzaga and Portland.

The two tournaments, each consisting of eight teams, would take place in Portland, Ore. during a four-day period in November, 2017.

Mark your calendars, Hoyas fans!