clock menu more-arrow no yes mobile

Filed under:

One Bright Spot, Kinda

Congrats to Greg Monroe for being named Big East Rookie of the Year.

The last Georgetown freshman to be the sole recipient of the prestigious award was Allen Iverson, who left after his sophomore year.  Please don't follow in his footsteps Greggy bear.

In other news, coaches completely wussed out by naming Blair and Thabeet Co-Players of the Year.  Blair should be Big East Player of the Year, he dominated Thabeet the first time they met and Pitt is responsible for 2 out of the 3 UConn losses this year.

No idea why Jay Wright is Coach of the Year.  Villanova was predicted to finish 5th in the Big East and instead they made a huge jump to 4th!  Coaches that deserved it over the fabulously glamorous Wright: Bob Huggins, Mick Cronin, Keno Davis, Buzz Williams, even Jamie Dixon.


Good talk.